Skip to content

August 21, 2011

Gentle Yoga for seniors

by yogamaistro

Through my many years teaching and practicing yoga, I have realized the one thing that matters most in life is a positive attitude. I have worked with seniors and people with disabilities or injuries who have overcome physical challenges through the power of their will. That is why I am so passionate about sharing the power of yoga to help improve the quality of life for Seniors who may feel hopeless about their ability to ever experience the physical enjoyment of body movement again.

I am 82-years old and live in a senior community where I see and listen to many of my peers who are just feeling downright bad. Let’s admit it, the longer we live, the more aches and pains we are bound to have. I started yoga over 40 years ago after an old back injury started to flare up and the doctors told me I needed back surgery. I was determined to find a better way – a more natural and healing way, to ease my pain. I found that in Gentle Yoga, and have been practicing ever since.

Can Gentle Yoga really help You?
Now, can Gentle Yoga really help someone who has never done it before? Can it really ease pain, reverse the affects of aging, or simply get those atrophied muscles moving and feeling stronger? Yes, it can. No matter where you are today in your physical or mental condition, Gentle Yoga can help improve your state of mind and body. I have been teaching Gentle Yoga to seniors for decades, and have seen some amazing results.

Stay Independent longer with Gentle Yoga
At LeisureWorld, a senior’s community in Southern California, I taught yoga to 60, 70 and 80 year olds of all different physical and mental conditions. I remember fondly Jane, her family wanted to institutionalize her because they had given up hope. She was moping around, not caring for herself and just feeling miserable. But, she was adamant to stay as independent as she could so she started taking my Gentle Yoga classes. After 6 months of yoga, everyone commented on how good she looked, how nice her hair looked and you could see the confidence radiating out of her. Her whole outlook changed. I had the sons and daughters of the residents comment to me on how much their parents improved, their memories were coming back, and most importantly – their spirits were lifting.

What is Gentle Yoga Anyway?
For many of you, you may think yoga is some strange religion where you sit chanting and burning incense. But yoga is really a holistic approach to managing your physical, mental and spiritual health. Gentle Yoga is a series of stretching and strengthening movements that get your blood flowing and your joints and muscles moving. These movements improve your circulation, digestion and mental alacrity so that you just feel better. And when you feel better, you are more optimistic about life. You don’t have to be super flexible and fold your body into a pretzel. Gentle Yoga is not competitive, you progress at the pace your body takes you. And when you look back over weeks and months of doing yoga, I guarantee you will see an improvement and feel a sense of pride and accomplishment.

 
https://coolyogadotnet.wordpress.com/ebaypartnernetworkactivation.txt

Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

